6 Essential Beauty Products for this Fashionista

Beauty goes hand-in-hand with fashion. Glowing skin, shinny hair, flawless make-up, and moisturized skin compliment any outfit. I’ve realized there are a lot of products I use on the daily that have tremendously help me with my beauty routine — especially during the winter. Here are some of my top picks that keep me looking so fresh-and-so-clean!
(Drugstore, $8)
Organix Hydrating Moroccan Argan Oil Creamy Oil Body Wash
I love this stuff! I randomly stumbled upon it during a visit to the drugstore. The “Argan Oil” title caught my attention — since I knew it is so great for hair, I wondered what it could do for the skin? And so, I gave it a whirl… The verdict? LOVE! This has kept my skin super soft and smooth. I use it everyday. I’m definitely tempted to give the complementary body moisturizer a try in the hopes it will do the same. You can’t beat the price either! Lastly, it’s organic – a winner in my books!

                                                                 (Sephora, $8)

Caudalie Grape Water
When living in Toronto, I used to be an avid user of the Vichy Mineral Water spray. I attempted to search for it here in San Francisco and it was a no-go. During my visit to Sephora, I was recommended Caudalie Grape Water as a substitute. What is it you ask? It’s a 100% grape water toner enriched with moisturizing polysaccharides and mineral salts – Basically, it helps hydrate and refresh your skin. The way I use it: after applying make-up, I give my face a quick spritz to settle everything in for a nice glow. Ps. This stuff is really awesome in hot and/or humid climates, especially when your skin needs a mid-day refresher.

(Sephora, $18)

Benefit BADgal Lash Mascara
Like a good pair of jeans, a good mascara is hard to find. From L’Oreal to Dior, I’ve tried them all – trust me! However, through all my mascara adventures, I found the key to finding a great one is in the brush. In comes Benefit’s BADgal Lash Mascara – my top choice! Their brush is incredible! — I’ve actually held onto the brush from my last bottle. In case I run out, I can still use the awesome brush — BADgal comes in a rich black and a really cool plum shade (which is a must try!). The large brush helps give a voluminous effect, while catching every lash. Remember to always curl before applying mascara. For the special days/nights, blow-dry your curler before using to give maximum effect!
(Sephora, $11-$21)
Oscar Blandi Dry Shampoo
Dry shampoo has been one of the greatest inventions, EVER! It gives you instant volume, while letting you skip a day of shampooing (especially if you have naturally oily roots). When I originally heard of this stuff, it was only available at specialty stores. However, now it’s available everywhere and come in different price points. I’ve been meaning to give the drugstore brands a try (i.e. Dove, Tresemme, Suave) to see if they compare to the higher end ones. I personally use Charles Worthington, which has been working great for me.  However, I tried Oscar Blandi Dry Shampoo. This stuff is pretty good! The smaller bottle is only $11 too! The one tip I was given: even if you are a brunette, don’t buy the one made for brunette hair — it doesn’t work as well. The blonde one will work just fine on any hair.

(Drugstore, $6)

Dove Intensive Repair Hair Mask 
Cold weather outside = heated indoors = dried out and damaged hair! Don’t forget all the hot styling tools that add further damage. I happened to come across a raving review for Dove’s hair mask. Right then, I knew I had to try it. I finally got to use it last night and…. My hair feels so soft and hydrated! I’m actually really pleasantly surprised by the results! Take my word and try it! Can’t beat the price either.

(Sephora, $40)
Cover FX’s Natural FX Water Based Foundation 
Cover-up is a hard thing to find. You want something natural, non-cakey, and of course, the perfect shade. Having Indian skin, I basically have a limited selection as to what brands cater to me. A couple years ago, I was recommended Cover-FX, a mineral based liquid foundation with SPF. I’ve been in love ever since! I’ve been using Cover-FX for years now and it has never failed me! The light natural finish doesn’t take away your skin’s natural glow. Instead, it almost makes your skin look photo-shopped! Oh, and it’s amazing for covering up any redness too! Lastly, the bottle will last you about 6-8 months. All you need is a good foundation brush and literally a drop of product to cover your whole face.
Foundation Tip: Toss away sponges! Most of your product tends to absorb into the sponge, rather than go onto your skin. Invest in a great foundation brush, which will last you a LONG time.
 Pro Tapered Foundation Brush #58Pro Foundation Brush #47
(Sephora Brand Foundation Brushes: Right: $32, Left: $27)
Leave a Reply

